Skip to main content

UCSF Research Development Office (RDO): Grant Templates and Guides

Instructions and examples of tables

A document with instructions and samples for all data tables can be found here.

Description of tables

Number

Title

Description

Table 1

(New Applications)

Membership of Participating Departments/Programs

This table provides insight into the environment in which training will take place. It allows reviewers to assess whether the program has the "critical mass" (trainees, faculty and other research personnel) and representation/distribution of scientific disciplines to be successful.

Table 1

(Renewal/Revision Applications)

Membership of Participating Departments/Programs

This table provides insight into the environment in which training will take place. It allows reviewers to assess whether the program has the "critical mass" (trainees, faculty and other research personnel) and representation/distribution of scientific disciplines to be successful.

Table 2

Participating Faculty Members

This information allows reviewers to assess the distribution of junior versus senior faculty and clinical versus basic scientists participating in the training program, as well as their distribution by department. The data concisely summarize the scientific areas of the training faculty.

Table 3

Institutional Training Grant Support Available to Participating Faculty Members, Departments, or Programs

This table will permit an evaluation of the level of support for training available to each of the participating departments/programs and the extent to which the proposed training grant overlaps with or duplicates available training grant support. It is useful in determining the number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 4

Grant and Contract Support of the Participating Faculty Members

This table provides evidence of the strength of the research environment, the availability of funds to support research conducted by the trainees, and the appropriateness of the participating faculty members in terms of their active research support.

Table 5A

Predoctoral Trainees of Participating Faculty Members

The data in this table permit an evaluation of the success of the proposed faculty in facilitating the progression of students in their research careers, the ability of the faculty to commit appropriate time to mentoring additional trainees, and the institutions from which their trainees are selected.

Table 5B

Postdoctoral Trainees of Participating Faculty Members

The data in this table permit an evaluation of the success of the proposed faculty in facilitating the progression of students in their research careers, the ability of the faculty to commit appropriate time to mentoring additional trainees, and the institutions from which their trainees are selected.

Table 6A

(New Applications)

Publications of Research Completed by Predoctoral Trainees

This information provides an indicator of ability of the mentor to foster trainee productivity and allows assessment of the research quality and authorship priority of previous predoctoral trainees.

Table 6B

(New Applications)

Publications of Research Completed by Postdoctoral Trainees

This information provides an indicator of ability of the mentor to foster trainee productivity and allows assessment of the research quality and authorship priority of previous postdoctoral trainees.

Table 6A

(Renewal Applications)

Publications of Research Completed by Predoctoral Trainees

This information provides an indicator of trainee productivity, research quality, and priority of authorship; and the success of faculty members in facilitating predoctoral trainee publication.

Table 6B

(Renewal Applications)

Publications of Research Completed by Postdoctoral Trainees

This information provides an indicator of trainee productivity, research quality, and priority of authorship; and the success of faculty members in facilitating postdoctoral trainee publication.

Table 7A

Admissions and Completion Records for the Participating Departments and Programs During the Past Five Years (Predoctoral Applicants)

These data permit the evaluation of the participating departments/programs’ abilities to recruit and retain predoctoral trainees through the completion of their PhD requirements. The data permit separate analyses of total trainees, TGE trainees, and the diversity of the trainees. These data are useful in determining the selectivity of the admissions process, the success of recruitment and retention of trainees from diverse backgrounds, and the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 7B

Admissions and Completion Records for the Participating Departments and Programs During the Past Five Years (Postdoctoral Applicants)

These data permit evaluation of the abilities of the participating departments/programs to recruit and retain postdoctoral trainees through the completion of their training. The data permit separate analyses of total trainees, TGE trainees, and the diversity of the trainees. These data are useful in determining the selectivity of the admissions process, the success of recruitment and retention of trainees from diverse backgrounds, and the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 8A

Qualifications of Recent Predoctoral Applicants

The data provided in this table will permit an evaluation of the quality and depth of the applicant pool. The data permit separate analyses for TGE and non-TGE applicants. These data are useful in determining the selectivity of the admissions process, the competitiveness of the program, and the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 8B

Qualifications of Recent Postdoctoral Applicants

The data provided in this table will permit an evaluation of the quality and depth of the applicant pool. The data permit separate analyses for TGE and non-TGE applicants. These data are useful in determining the selectivity of the admissions process, the competitiveness of the program, and the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 9A

(New Applications)

Qualifications of the Current Predoctoral Trainees Clearly Associated with the Training Program

These data are useful in determining the number and quality of all trainees currently enrolled in the program, and their distribution by department and mentor. These data are useful in determining the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 9B

(New Applications)

Qualifications of the Current Postdoctoral Trainees Clearly Associated with the Training Program

These data are useful in determining the number and quality of all trainees currently associated with the program, and their distribution by department and mentor. These data highlight the selectivity of the program over time. These data are useful in determining the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 9A

(Renewal/Revision Applications)

Qualifications of the Current Predoctoral Trainees Clearly Associated with the Training Program

These data are useful in determining the number and quality of all trainees currently enrolled in the program, and their distribution by department and mentor. These data highlight the selectivity of appointments to the training grant over time. These data are useful in determining the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 9B

(Renewal/Revision Applications)

Qualifications of the Current Postdoctoral Trainees Clearly Associated with the Training Program

These data are useful in determining the number and quality of all trainees currently associated with the program, and their distribution by department and mentor. For renewal applications, these data highlight the selectivity of appointments to the training grant over time. These data are useful in determining the appropriate number of training positions to be awarded.

Table 10

Admissions and Completion Records for Underrepresented Minority (URM), Trainees with Disabilities, and Trainees from Disadvantaged Backgrounds Clearly Associated with the Training Program (Renewal Applications, Optional for New Applications)

The data provided in this table will permit evaluation of the success of the program in recruiting and retaining URM trainees, and analysis of their support, and begin to establish a record of NIH training of other Diversity Recruitment groups.

Table 11

Appointments to the Training Grant For Each Year of the Past Award (Renewal Applications Only)

For renewal applications, the data provided in this table permits evaluation of the utilization of awarded training positions.

Table 12A

Predoctoral Trainees Supported by this Training Grant (Renewal Applications Only)

For renewal applications, this table provides detailed information about how predoctoral training positions are used (i.e., distribution by mentor, year in program, years of support per trainee). The data also permit an evaluation of the success of the program in achieving the training objectives of the prior award period(s) for up to 10 years.

Table 12B

Postdoctoral Trainees Supported by this Training Grant (Renewal Applications Only)

For renewal applications, this table provides detailed information about how postdoctoral training positions are used (i.e., distribution by mentor, year in program, years of support per trainee). The data also permit an evaluation of the success of the program in achieving the training objectives of the prior award period(s) for up to 10 years.