UCSF-customized version of PubMed requires off campus users to log in with MyAccess for full text access. Good starting point for health sciences research including nursing, medicine, dentistry, and pharmacy.
- the Online version of Index Medicus produced by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is freely available on the Internet, and which dates back to 1966 and selectively to 1809
- Contains over 22 million records
- Subject coverage = medical, biomedical and life sciences
In addition to Medline, Pubmed contains:
- ‘in process’ citations
- some older citations
- citations to non-medical journals
- citations to ebooks
- Subject coverage = medical, biomedical & life sciences.
Helps you:
- Explore evidence for and against effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments in specific circumstances.
- See economic evaluations
- Find methodologies
Access to databases for the practice of evidence-based medicine:
- Systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials that have been published in the current literature
- Summaries of systematic reviews
- Reports from health technology assessment organizations
- Economic evaluations of health care interventions from published and unpublished sources
- Methods used in the conduct of controlled trials
Resources include:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Health Technology Assessment Database(HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Embase provides coverage of the biomedical literature, with 37.2 million+ records from almost 8,100 currently published journals. Embase includes six million+ records and 2,900+ journals that are not covered by MEDLINE. Also, Embase Classic provides access to data going back to 1947.
Renewal funds, courtesy of the Chancellor. The continuation of the Embase will depend on funding.
Includes or is also known as: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Web of Knowledge
Helps you:
- Identify more recent articles on the same topic
- Find where an article or author has been cited
- Find articles that an article has cited
- Links articles by citations
Focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Areas of coverage include education, health sciences, history, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies.
- Sources include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO, and special reports.
Full-text archive for more than 360 of the top scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities and arts. Coverage of some journals dates back to the nineteenth century. Does not include the most recent years (3-10 years) of publication.
Political and social sciences, international relations, and health policy.
- Contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and more.
- Includes publications from over 120 countries.
- Updated monthly and covers from 1972 to the present.
Comprehensive database of funding opportunities for most disciplines from federal agencies and private US and international foundations.
- UCSF affiliates can create personal accounts to save their searches and set-up regular funding alerts.
- Pivot also provides access to faculty/researcher profiles across a broad spectrum of institutions and information on calls for paper and special issue of scholarly journals regarding to their abstract submission deadlines.
- The Research Development Office, in collaboration with the Library, is pleased to offer monthly trainings for faculty, staff, postdocs and students on Pivot.
Access to this database is paid for by the Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor & Provost.
Full text access to psychology journals and book chapters.
- Full-text access to over 50 journals, including editorials, letters & tables of contents, from 1986-present
- Full-text coverage of book chapters from 2000-present
- Covers from 1887 to the present
- Includes citations to international literature in over 1,400 journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations
- Related disciplines include anthropology, nursing, business, pharmacology, education, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and medicine.
keywords: psyching psych info psych info psyhcinfo ethics
Topics covered include anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, social psychology,sociology, and urban development from 1963 to the present.
keywords: SocAbstracts ethics
The UCSF Open Access Publishing Fund helps cover open access (OA) publication fees for UCSF authors who do not have grant or other funds available to cover them. It is funded and run by the UCSF Library.
