UCSF Guides: Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice

Learn More about EBP

Evidence-based practice in nursing & healthcare: a guide to best practice [electronic resource]
Lippincott manual of nursing practice [electronic resource]
American Journal of Nursing series: EBP step by step
JBI EBP eBook
A series of EBP eBooks: Synthesizing evidence from narrative, test and opinion; Synthesizing evidence of diagnostic accuracy; synthesizing evidence of risk; synthesizing qualitative evidence; Synthesizing quantitative evidence; Translation science and the JBI model of evidence-based healthcare

Key Resources for Evidence-Based Information

Systematic Reviews Guide
PubMed@UCSF Clinical Queries
A quick way to locate systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines.

Embase
Search all of Medline plus over 2,000 extra titles, including more EU journals. Covers medical and biomedical sciences plus drug and pharmacy. Good starting point for health sciences research including nursing, medicine, dentistry, and pharmacy.
Use Embase:
- For guided Entree subject searching (including MeSH)
- For great basic, natural language search
- For drug/pharmacy topics (coverage plus subheading options)
- To pick up recent articles & conference papers & EU journals
- For extensive search limiting options

Includes:
- all of Medline plus over 2,000 extra titles (including more EU journals) and 260,000 conference abstracts and dates back to 1947 and selectively to 1902
- over 24 million records from more than 7,500 journals
- Subject coverage = medical & biomedical sciences + drug & pharmacy

Renewal funds, courtesy of the Chancellor. Continuation of Embase will depend on funding.

keywords: pubmed medline
CINAHL Complete
Use Limits: Clinical Queries or Evidence-Based Practice or Publication Type: Meta-Analysis or Systematic Review. Also, use "Evidence-Based Care Sheets" for quick access.
Helps you find:
- nursing and allied health literature from 1937 to the present
- full-text articles
- full-text books
- standards of professional practice
- dissertations

Also contains:
- evidence-based care information
- educational software & continuing education modules
- audiovisual materials
- research instruments
- consumer health information

keywords: theory
Cochrane Library
Find systematic reviews.
Helps you:
- Explore evidence for and against effectiveness and appropriateness of treatments in specific circumstances.
- See economic evaluations
- Find methodologies

Access to databases for the practice of evidence-based medicine:
- Systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials that have been published in the current literature
- Summaries of systematic reviews
- Reports from health technology assessment organizations
- Economic evaluations of health care interventions from published and unpublished sources
- Methods used in the conduct of controlled trials

Resources include:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
- Health Technology Assessment Database(HTA)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)

keywords: EBM evidence based medicine

TRIP (Translating Research Into Practice) Database (FREE)
Allows health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

UpToDate
- Find current options for diagnosis, management, and therapy, including doses and interactions of individual drugs
- Find screening and prevention strategies
- Answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice
Get information on UCSF access to the mobile app

keywords: up to date
Access to UpToDate is provided by the UCSF Medical Center

Practice Guidelines

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence Reports
High quality evidence-based reports

Guidelines and Measures
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Helps you:
- Find objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines
- Develop, implement, and use clinical practice guidelines

keywords: ngc EBM evidence based medicine

U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
Evaluate clinical research in order to assess the merits of preventive measures, including screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and preventive medications

Literature Searching Strategies – Getting to the Best Evidence

Literature Searching Strategies – Getting to the Best Evidence

Clinical Tools

UpToDate
- Find current options for diagnosis, management, and therapy, including doses and interactions of individual drugs
- Find screening and prevention strategies
- Answer clinical questions that arise in daily practice
Get information on UCSF access to the mobile app

keywords: up to date
Access to UpToDate is provided by the UCSF Medical Center

Lippincott nursing procedures
Lab Tests Online
A very useful resource to help you understand your clinical lab testing and report

Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice

Learn More about EBP

Key Resources for Evidence-Based Information

Practice Guidelines

Literature Searching Strategies – Getting to the Best Evidence

Clinical Tools

e-EBN Journals