Books on LGBT Elders & Seniors at the UCSF Library
Lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender aging : research and clinical perspectives by Call Number: HQ76.25 .L494 2006ISBN: 9780231136181Publication Date: 2006Comprehensive, helpful coverage of issues affecting LGBT seniors including physical and mental health, sexuality, victimization of elders, retirement plans, legal concerns, grandparent relationships, and active organizations.
Midlife and aging in gay America : proceedings of the SAGE Conference 2000 by Call Number: HQ75.115 .S24 2000ISBN: 1560232617Publication Date: 2000Includes first person accounts, case studies and other research, and cultural studies.
Social services for senior gay men and lesbians by Call Number: HV1449 .S65 1997ISBN: 1560230843Publication Date: 1997Helps social service providers address particular needs of LGBT elderly including housing needs, group therapy, long-term care dilemmas, coming out late in life, and staff training for non-gay providers.
Lambda gray : a practical, emotional, and spiritual guide for gays and lesbians who are growing older by Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5 L36 1993ISBN: 0878771794Publication Date: 1993A community-based anthology on sexualities and aging.
Aging with HIV : a gay man's guide by Call Number: RC606.64 .M37 2011ISBN: 0199740585Discusses the process of change, adaptation versus stagnation, and optimal aging with HIV.
The Fenway guide to enhancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender healthcare by Call Number: RA564.9 .H65 F46 2008ISBN: 9781930513952Publication Date: 2008This comprehensive resource includes a chapter on clinical approaches to late adulthood and aging.
Handbook of counseling and psychotherapy with lesbian, gay, and bisexual clients by Call Number: BF637 .C6 H3125 2000ISBN: 155798610XPublication Date: 2000Includes a chapter on potential counseling concerns of aging lesbian, gay, and bisexual clients.
Gay and lesbian mental health : a sourcebook for practitioners by Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 G39 1996ISBN: 1560238798Publication Date: 1996Includes a chapter on aging and mental health issues in the gay and lesbian community.
Organizations and Resources for LGBT Elders & Seniors
LGBT elders have brought about immense social and political changes, but many suffered arrest, firing and eviction, psychiatric mistreatment, being disowned by family, and dishonorable discharge. LGBT elders are more susceptible to poverty due to discrimination, and are more likely to live alone with significantly higher rates of health risk.
Senior care facilities frequently lack training or awareness of LGBT care needs. Overwhelming numbers of LGBT elders report fears of discrimination and harassment in senior facilities, and many feel forced to conceal their sexual orientation or gender identity even if they have previously been out of the closet.
- Openhouse (San Francisco)Openhouse offers housing information and seeks to develop new housing locations for LGBT seniors, trains service providers to create welcoming, safe and secure environments for aging LGBT clients, and provides information for all types of senior needs and care.
- Lavender Seniors of the East BayProvides social support services and a caring community for LGBT older adults, including isolated, vulnerable or disabled seniors. Advocates for betterment of LGBT and mainstream senior communities.
- SAGE - Services & Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender EldersBegun in 1978 as Senior Action in a Gay Environment, SAGE is the largest and oldest national services and advocacy organization for LGBT seniors. SAGE's work includes individual and group counseling, caregiver training, and policy research.
- Planning With Purpose: Legal Basics for LGBT EldersThis guide published by the National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR) and Services & Advocacy for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Elders (SAGE) provides proactive steps for LGBT people to protect themselves and loved ones as they age. Covers relationship protection and recognition, retirement income, estate planning and other financial issues, health care planning, minor and/or disabled children, long term care, and abuse and neglect prevention.
- National Resource Center on LGBT AgingFunded by a recent U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services grant and created by SAGE in partnership with other organizations, the Center seeks to provide information that will help LGBT elders age successfully. The Center will develop publications, tools and resources on a wide variety of LGBT health topics.
- Older Lesbians Organizing for Change (OLOC)"We are a national network of old lesbians over age 60 working to confront ageism in our communities and our country." OLOC conducts anti-ageism workshops, holds regional and national gatherings, and builds resources including the Old Lesbian Oral Herstory Project.
- Lesbian and Gay Aging Issues Network (LGAIN)This network within the American Society on Aging raises awareness about barriers to housing, healthcare, and long-term care faced by LGBT elders. LGAIN promotes multidisciplinary research on LGBT aging through publications, conferences, and cosponsored events.
- The Health Report: Resilience and Disparities Among LGBT Older Adults (2011)A summary report on "Caring and Aging With Pride," the first national project funded by the National Institutes of Health and the National Institute on Aging, which provides information about both the health challenges and the sources of community and personal resilience of LGBT elders.
- LGBT Older Adults in Long-Term Care Facilities: Stories from the Field (2011)This survey of LGBT elders by several national LGBT and senior organizations reports on healthcare abuses such as refused admission and medical services, attempted or abrupt discharge, refusal to accept medical power of attorney, restriction of visitors, verbal and physical harrassment, and refusal to refer to transgender person by preferred name or pronoun.
- The Health of Aging Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Adults in California (2011)This report by the UCLA Center for Health Policy Research documents that older lesbian, gay and bisexual adults have higher rates of several serious chronic physical and mental health conditions compared to similar heterosexual adults. The report calls for programs directed to specific needs and chronic conditions of LGBT elders.
- Improving the Lives of LGBT Older Adults (2010)Produced by SAGE in collaboration with LGBT advocacy organizations and mainstream aging organizations, this report examines the negative health impact of the financial insecurities, health disparities, and social isolation experienced by many LGBT seniors.
- Openhouse Study (2021)Brief summary report of a large gender-inclusive and racially-inclusive study of the concerns of LGBT seniors in the Bay Area.