Reports on LGBT Health
Image by urbangarden via Flickr (Creative Commons)
"Life Liberty and the Pursuit of Healthiness" - 2010 San Francisco Pride
Reports on LGBT health by government agencies, professional associations, and academic institutions provide evidence of the negative health impact of inequality and suggest the positive effects of community organization and activism.
These "gray literature" reports are excellent resources for clarifying the context of LGBT health and situating proposals for further research and clinical interventions.
- The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People (2011)This Institute of Medicine report is the most current, extensive and authoritative exploration of LGBT health issues and disparities, discussing barriers to healthcare access, the history and present situation of HIV/AIDS, and aspects of the LGBT life course. The report recommends expanding data collection on sexual and gender minorities, and including LGBT participation in all National Institutes of Health (NIH) research.
- U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services - Improving Data Collection for the LGBT Community (2011)This brief policy statement by the Department of Health & Human Services calls for more comprehensive LGBT health data collection and analysis and sets a timeline for integration of sexual orientation and gender identity variables into HHS national surveys.
- Changing the Game: What Health Care Reform Means for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Americans (2011)This report by the National Coalition for LGBT Health and the Center for American Progress examines the positive effect of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) on LGBT healthcare.
- Healthcare Equality Index 2024This report by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation seeks to create a national standard for equal treatment of LGBT patients and families, evaluating healthcare facilities for patient non-discrimination policies, equal hospital visitation rights by LGBT partners, cultural competency training, transgender health benefits, employment non-discrimination, and LGBT employee groups.
- Poverty in the Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Community (2009)Produced by the Williams Institute at UCLA, this report found that lesbian, gay and bisexual individuals and families are at least as likely to be poor as heterosexual individuals and families. This was especially true for lesbian couples and families, African American same-sex couples and families, and rural lesbians, gays, and bisexuals.
- Healthy People 2010: Companion Document for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Health (2001)Healthy People 2010 is a national health promotion and disease prevention plan published in 2001 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, stating public health goals for the first decade of the 21st century. This companion document produced by the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association assesses needs and promotes awareness of LGBT health challenges.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Health: Findings and Concerns (2000)This white paper by Columbia University and the Gay and Lesbian Medical Association examines the role of stigma and discrimination in producing health disparities impacting LGBT populations.
Data & Methodology Resources on LGBT Health
These data archives, research organizations, and methodology resources provide support for further research on LGBT health. LGBT-focused resources are listed first, followed by federal and California health data resources, then by federal population and demographic resources.
- Williams Institute (UCLA School of Law)UCLA's Williams Institute on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Law and Policy works to ensure that LGBT people are visible and counted. Research from the Williams Institute has informed legislation and judicial decisions, and the Institute has partnered with the U.S. Census Bureau to enhance LGBT data collection.
- Best Practices for Asking About Sexual Orientation on SurveysPublished by UCLA's Williams Institute in 2009, these best practices guidelines discuss age and sexual orientation, racial/ethnic and other cultural considerations, collecting data on transgender status and gender non-conformity, and most effective analysis of data.
- LGBTData.comMaintained by the Program for LGBT Health at Drexel University's School of Public Health. An open-access data clearinghouse with data sources, knowledge index, measures, sampling information, and recommended survey questions.
- ICPSR Data ArchiveIn addition to its data archive of social sciences research, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides bibliographies on data-related literature, thematic collections, and information on data deposit and digital curation. (In order to access this resource, you must be on the UCSF network.)
- National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)The health statistics resource for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), with survey and data collection systems information, access to data sets, and publications. The Center identifies health disparities, monitors trends in health status and healthcare delivery, and provides information for public policy changes and program development.
- Data & Statistics Archive (CDC)This Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) site has interactive tools, surveys, risk factor surveillance and data collection systems, publications, and vital statistics, with data and statistics for specific health conditions.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data ArchiveIncludes information about submitting data sets, downloading data and analyzing data online, questionnaires and instruments, and publications and outreach materials.
- California Office of Statewide Health Planning and DevelopmentProvides current and historical data and reports on healthcare workforce, various types of healthcare facilities, and quality of care.
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)Published by the U.S. Census Bureau, American FactFinder offers information on population groups, housing, income levels, education and employment, and many other variables.
- U.S. Census BureauIn addition to American FactFinder, the most widely used feature, the U.S. Census website offers many other data tools and resources including census data analysis applications, mapping tools, and DataFerrett, "a tool and data librarian" for searching and retrieving data across federal, state, and local surveys.
Video - LGBT Data: Politics, Policy and Practice
Video of a 2011 research presentation by Gary J. Gates, PhD, of the Williams Institute at UCLA. Dr. Gates describes working with the U.S. Census Bureau to enhance LGBT data collection, and discusses research findings and changing methodologies for counting LGBT people and relationships.