Books on LGBT Mental Health at the UCSF Library
The LGBT casebook by Call Number: RC558 .L43 2012ISBN: 1585624217Publication Date: 2012Published by the American Psychiatric Association, this casebook covers a wide range of mental health issues including coming out, ADHD, substance issues, depressive, bipolar and other disorders, relational issues, and phases of life.
Handbook of LGBT issues in community mental health by Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 H36 2004ISBN: 0789023105Publication Date: 2004Includes case studies and other approaches to LGBT issues in the institutional contexts of community and public mental health.
Mental health issues in lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities by Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 M45 2002ISBN: 1585620696Publication Date: 2002Explores mental health issues for gay youth, seniors, and transgender people, and critiques "ex-gay reparative therapy."
Sexual orientation and mental health : examining identity and development in lesbian, gay, and bisexual people by Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 S46 2006ISBN: 1591472326Publication Date: 2006This edited collection uses clinical findings, case studies, and national health data to examine the impact of factors such as religion, substance use, poverty and racism on LGBT youth and adults.
Handbook of counseling and psychotherapy with lesbian, gay, and bisexual clients by Call Number: BF637 .C6 H3125 2000ISBN: 155798610XPublication Date: 2000A handbook of counseling and therapeutic issues for LGBT clients featuring chapters by numerous leading therapists.
Textbook of homosexuality and mental health by Call Number: 1996ISBN: 088048716XPublication Date: RC451.4 .G39 T47 1996Very comprehensive coverage of psychological issues for LGBT mental health, with chapters on a variety of social concerns, racial communities, and professional and ethical commitments.
Homosexuality and the mental health professions : the impact of bias by Call Number: 2000ISBN: 0881633186Publication Date: RC558 .H655 2000An extended examination and critique of the effects of heterosexist and homophobic bias in the mental health professions.
Notes from the margins : the gay analyst's subjectivity in the treatment setting by Call Number: RC440.84 .S53 2005ISBN: 0881634115Publication Date: 2005Examines a variety of therapeutic relationships from the perspective of a gay male analyst.
Gay men and childhood sexual trauma : integrating the shattered self by Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5 G389 2000ISBN: 1560231386Publication Date: 2000An edited collection exploring therapeutic and survival issues for gay men who experienced childhood sexual abuse.
Ex-gay research : analyzing the Spitzer study and its relation to science, religion, politics, and culture by Call Number: RC558 .E98 2006ISBN: 1560235578Publication Date: 2006"Ex-gay therapy" draws scathing ethical and methodological critiques from numerous contributors in this edited collection.
American psychiatry and homosexuality : an oral history by Call Number: RC558 .A44 2007ISBN: 1560237392Publication Date: 2007Interviews from numerous psychiatrists about their own professional experience and about psychiatry's troubling history of treating homosexuality.
Gay and lesbian mental health : a sourcebook for practitioners by Call Number: RC451.4 .G39 G39 1996ISBN: 1560238798Publication Date: 1996Discusses many areas of community need and therapeutic practice including sexual abuse, suicide, multiple loss, autonomy and intimacy in LGBT relationships, parenting, Latino gay identity, aging, and sexual objectification.
Homosexuality & psychoanalysis by Call Number: RC506 .H66 2001ISBN: 0226139379Publication Date: 2001Provides theoretical and philosophical examinations of the intersection of sexualities and psychoanalysis.
LGBT Mental Health Organizations and Resources
- Gaylesta: The GLBT Psychotherapists Association of the Greater SF Bay AreaA non-profit organization of over 200 mental health professionals, Gaylesta provides referrals for many LGBTQ mental health services, promotes professional awareness of LGBT issues in the mental health field, and offers seminars, consultations, and speakers.